It’s 2014. Lets try something new.

Hello.
New years generally bring about changes in one way or another, whether we want them to or not. This year, I decided that I wanted to start to chronicle the adventures that go along with parenting, from the perspective of guy who makes no pretenses about being dad of the year, I’m trying my hardest to be the best I can, but I’ll freely admit my shortcomings.

I am no stranger to blogs, I’ve had a few in my time, most were fly-by-night things that lasted a few weeks, and another than ran for almost three years before I pulled the plug on it. When you wake up in the morning and realize that what you are writing makes you look like an angst-filled teen when you’re in your thirties, its time to change direction. Rapidly.

So, what will you read here?
Mostly opinions. In the months to come, there will be no shortage of things that I’ll feel commenting on is my duty as a parent, as a man, or simply as someone with too big a mouth to keep quiet. I highly encourage anyone who might read me to question, debate, or flat-out argue with me if they see something they disagree with. I like to argue, and I find being proven wrong to be educational. I’m not above admitting I’m on the wrong side of an argument now and then, because I’m not foolish enough to think that any one person can be right all the time, and that includes me.
Also, every now and then, I have a secret desire to cook, so we’ll detail some of those…..experiences….here as well. Because seriously, you don’t have enough recipes for chicken sandwiches in your life, so I’ll give you some more. Be forewarned, the indicator needle on my culinary prowess meter hovers immediately between “Environmental Hazard” and “Rank Amateur” and if I happen to get the wild hare that demands I bake something, that needle dips into the world of “Potentially toxic” – but…spoilers….

Credentials:
What right do I have to comment on parenthood? Some, I think. I am the father of two young boys, one getting ready to start Kindergarten, and the other just about ready to start learning his words. I am married to a woman who seems to have figured parenting out right away, and can take anything the job throws at her with such a professional aplomb as to boggle the mind.

And that should be it for an introduction. If I’ve managed to pique your interest should you have stumbled across me, come on back in a day or two. If I haven’t, well…thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

