Is This Weird? This Is Weird…Right?

This summer a very good friend of mine is getting married. He’s been like a brother to me for years- the type of guy who would give you the shirt off his back if he thought you needed it.
When I got married, he was one of my groomsmen, and when he got engaged, he asked me to return the favor, an honor I gratefully accepted.

The other day, my wife gets a message from him on facebook. “Hey, can you call me when you get a chance?” – He’s the master of those messages that leave you not knowing if he’s checking in to say ‘hi’ – or everyone is dead. He’s literally that cryptic in all of his messages, text, email, voice mail, you never know what he wants until you call him.

Whelp, as it turns out there was some drama between his fiancée and her maid of honor (when is there not?) – and it looks like she’s going to be fired, which would ‘promote’ one of the other bridesmaids to the position, leaving the wedding party lopsided.

The gist of the call was asking if my wife would be willing to step into the open bridesmaid position.

Why is this weird you ask? Well, I’ll tell you.

Neither one of us has ever met my friend’s fiancée.

He moved 800 miles away two years ago in pursuit of a better job, and when he got there, he met up with an old friend of his, they fell in love, and two years later they’re engaged. It’s a great story really. The long and short of it is, my wife is being plugged into the bridesmaid’s position not knowing anyone in the wedding party but the groom. Oh, and me.

I think its weird but also hilarious, and it works out for me for a few reasons.

1. At least I know I’ll get paired up with the hot one.

2. I’ve never gone to bed with a bridesmaid after a wedding before.

Awkward for her, awesome for me.

But seriously its just a little weird right?

 

Leave a Reply

