Why I Don’t Argue With My Wife

My wife and I are a normal couple. We laugh, love, and sometimes…bicker. Rare are the blow-outs, although they do happen now and again, usually when one or both of us is exhausted or frustrated over something and a small problem becomes an outlet for a full-blown storm.

The thing of it is though, I try really hard to NOT fight with my wife. Not because I feel like we shouldn’t fight, but because I’m so terrible at it. I’m really no good at arguing with her. Her mind is simply faster and more agile than mine. We had the following conversation yesterday:

Me: “….and that is exactly why I can’t argue with you. Every time I try to, you turn the tables on me and I’m under the gun again.”
Her: “Whatever do you mean?”
Me: “Well, if I try to point out a mistake you made or issues you have, all of a sudden, you’ll come back with MY failings and rather than address your problems, I’m on the defensive.”
Her: “Well, why do you think I have the problems in the first place?”
Me: “WHAT!? NO….YOU’RE DOING IT RIGHT NOW!”
Her: “I know what I’m doing.”

….I went and made a sandwich.

Leave a Reply

