May Your Days Be Merry and Bright

Since the half day I’m at work today promises to be the last instance of quiet time until 2015 for me, I shall now seize the opportunity to wish those of you who have kept me in your reader all this time a Safe, healthy, happy, and merry Christmas.
I know a lot of you are like me, stress-ridden and busy over the holiday season, but here’s hoping that no matter what else you’ve got on your plate, you get a chance to relax and enjoy the holidays for what they are.

As for me? I’ve got two little boys who are clock-watching like an office rat. The Narrator’s enthusiasm for Christmas has been picked up by Mini-Me, who still hasn’t got any idea what’s happening, but can sense something exciting in the air. The two of them are doing me a world of good, and they’ll never know it.

When I was a kid, every Christmas Eve, the families would rally to my grandmother’s house. There would be food, presents, and family, and always a lot of fun.

Now that my grandmother has moved to live with my aunt, my parents have taken up that mantle, and we’re gathering at their place tonight for a short while, until it is time to take the kids home and put them to bed. Then will follow a flurry of wrapping gifts and trying to get a handful of hours of sleep before The Narrator inevitably wakes up at some ghastly hour of the morning.

Tomorrow will be filled with family dropping in to visit. My parents, whom we’ll see tonight, will stop in in the morning, and my in-laws, who we’ll go visit in two days, will be there immediately after. We stagger their visits, mostly because the house is too small to accommodate what would be twelve people all at once, and also because my mother and my mother-in-law get along like a house on fire. They’re always pleasant to each other, but the temperature when they’re both around is always much, much colder than is comfortable.

….’tis the season- right?

I’m also on ambulance call starting around 6, so I could be celebrating part of my Christmas Day with some interesting illness or injury. It’s probably bad form to drive the rig wearing a Santa hat….right? And I’d probably get fired for wheeling a patient into an emergency room shouting “Ho Ho Ho!” as if I’m delivering some sort of squirming, barfing, or bleeding gift?

Anyway.

Sarcasm and joking aside, Tomorrow will be great. Exhausting, but great. We have family that we love visiting, and we’re going to have some honest-to-god quality time with the boys in the morning. Just us, them, and coffee.

I really and truly hope that every last one of you manages to have a great holiday, and if I don’t happen to get back here between now and then, I will see you all in 2015. Thanks for making adequatedad part of your 2014 experience.

2 thoughts on “May Your Days Be Merry and Bright

  1. The quality morning time is what is truly special about Christmas Day. Having all out boys around us, smiling faces and lots of giggles.
    We must enjoy these days, too soon they will be all grown up! Have a good one.
    Sarah

    • Thank you, and you do the very same. The fact that they grow up so fast is one of the reasons I don’t object to our families visiting us, trying though they may be. All of us are grown up now, and our boys are the only grandchildren on either side of the family, so I feel like the boys are giving back something of the old days to the grandparents…something that might not be quite the same since their own kids are all adults now. That’s something I hold to be pretty special too.

Leave a Reply

