What do You Want to be When You Grow Up?

That’s me on the right.

The Narrator and I were sitting on the couch the other day having a chat, and somehow or other the subject of work came up. Now, I realize that asking a five year old what they want to do with their life is a silly thing to do- Hell, I knew a girl who, at the age of seven, still wanted to be a mailbox when she grew up, and even as an adult on a career track, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do until I was 29.

But of course, it is always a fun game to play with children, so I asked him.

“I want to be a race car driver.”
“Cool. You do know that means you’ll have to work on riding your bike this summer right?” (He rejected the bike last year because it was ‘too wobbly’ and he was afraid.)
“Why?”
“Well, if you can’t ride a bike to the end of the driveway, how do you expect to be able to drive a car around a track really fast?”

He sits quietly for a moment, and I think I might have scored a point.

“Well. Maybe. But do you want to know what jobs I DON’T want to do?”
“What jobs are those bud?”
“Police, firefighter, ambulance, and fix computers.” (If you’re new to the AD family…this is essentially my resume)

I may have scored a point on the bike vs. race car discussion, but he wasn’t going to let me get away with it.

Parenting is hard enough without having a five year old that can fence with you verbally and riposte so quickly.

I might have to flee to the Himalayas to ‘find myself’ when this kid hits his teen years.

Leave a Reply

