Fifteen Hours Until Reboot

Or you’re in massive trouble.

It’s come to my attention that the last few weeks in terms of my work and jobs, I’ve been half-assing several things instead of whole-assing one thing, and it looks like it’s come round to bite me in the bottom rather seriously. Don’t expect clarification on that, I truly don’t care to talk about it.

As a result, my little getaway planned for this weekend will serve as a mental reset, a reboot of the system if you will. Three days where I don’t have to do anything but relax a bit. Then, when I come back on Monday, I can face the problems I’ve created from overworking myself head-on, and deal with the consequences.

Those of you familiar with the nature of my work can relax a little- I didn’t hurt anyone.

But yeah, as of right now, I’m 15 hours away from rebooting. Actually, fourteen hours, forty-five minutes…..and counting.

Changing the subject-

Anyone who has been reading my work here since I’ve started might have noticed a shift in content material.

I started this as another parenting blog, and slowly, as my work grew, it began to morph into a career-oriented page, with sprinkles of family related material here and there. Truly, it has become an indicator of what my life has become of late. My family life and experiences have become scattered in between the cracks of my work.

I don’t like that. Not at all.

So while my life has dictated the direction of this blog, I’m going to try to use this blog as a way to refocus myself. If I start to hack out the work stuff and focus on family, parenting, and kids- as I’d intended when I started this, maybe I’ll be starting to force myself back into some semblance of a life that doesn’t revolve around my work.

I hate to say it, but over the last few months, and specifically weeks, “AdequateDad” ……hasn’t been.

Both of the boys are starting to miss me as I jump from one job to the next, The Narrator asked my wife the other day “When will daddy be home for the whole day?” And last week, he broke a lego project we’d been working on, and when he couldn’t get it back together on his own, he broke down and sobbed “I wish daddy was here….I wish daddy was here.”

If that’s not a kick in the face from the universe to remind you of what is actually important, I don’t honestly know what is.

Point is, I need my reboot this weekend, and when I come back, I’d damn well better have my family and work life sorted out, or I may end up losing both of them.

Fourteen hours, thirty minutes……

2 thoughts on “Fifteen Hours Until Reboot

  1. This is hard to read man. I’ve been there and it is very hard to deal with the realization.
    The upshot is the change, the family time.
    I look forward to reading about your new direction. Enjoy the reboot 🙂

    • Thank you. Its been a rough couple of weeks. Not only have I worked myself to the point of forgetting what’s important, but also to where my focus AT work isnt 100% either, and it may cost me dearly.
      My ‘reboot’ is not only going to serve as a decompression time, but as preparation for what lies ahead, which I dont expect to be sunshine and fairy tales.

Leave a Reply

