Moving-Up Day

We’re headed off to The Narrator’s School in a short while. I don’t know when it started, but the school has this traditional ceremony called ‘moving up day’ which is pretty much like graduation for the elementary school. The kids sit with their teachers, then one by one each class stands up and moves back a row to the next grade’s teachers, symbolic of the end of the school year and the completion of the grade.

Today….The Narrator ‘graduates’ from Kindergarten. He and I are already making plans for the summer when we’re both home for the first half of the day. We’ve got fishing and camping and the annual trip to the Monster Truck show….I don’t know which one of us is looking forward to it more, and I hope I don’t screw it up.

Actually, I think my wife is happiest about it. She’s absolutely noted the lack of time I’ve had to spend with our oldest child with him being in school in the morning and me working at night. It isn’t an easy relationship to have.

I miss a lot of what he’s going through, and he’s beginning to see me as the guy who is never around. Nary a day goes by when he utters “I missed you today” during the short window when I do get to see him. He was a little bummed when he asked me “After Tuesday, are you on summer vacation too?” …and my answer wasn’t what he’d hoped.

I’m not going to ruin the summer with extra jobs and side work all over the place either. I’ve got my work which needs to be done and done properly, and if I keep picking up side crap, not only will I be burning myself out to the point where I was a week or so ago before my break, but I’ll be further stressing my relationship with my family.

I have a long way to go to fix everything, but Moving-Up Day is as symbolic for me as it is for The Narrator. He leaves Kindergarten, and I have a chance to leave the screwed up world of an overworked, never-there dad and spend some time with what is really, truly important.

Leave a Reply

