Answer Not Valid. Try Again.

Mini-Me has developed a habit that could drive someone about  to be canonized straight into the arms of excommunication.

He’ll ask a question, and if he doesn’t like the answer, he’ll ask it again….and again. And again, as if repeating the question will change the reality of the situation to something more favorable.

“Daddy? are those my socks?”
“No, those are pants.”
“Are those my socks?”
“No.”
“Are those my socks?”
“No.”
“Are those my socks?”

“Can we go to another store?”
“No, we’re going home now.”
“Can we go to another store?”
“No.”
“Can we go to another store?”
“No, what did I just say?”
“I don’t know. Can we go to another store?”

If you don’t yell at him to stop, it can continue for hours. There is no reasoning with a two and a half year old child, and you cannot ignore them, for their willpower for inane undertakings is far stronger than yours.

My wife and I counted thirty “Where are we” inquiries when we tried to ignore the question after three attempts to answer it. Since he didn’t like the answer, he kept asking. Over. And over. And over.

When he gets stuck in one of these loops, there is never a positive ending. Either I’ll have to firmly ask him to stop- and he cries, he continues for a week and a half…and I cry, his brother yells at him for his continuous inquiries, and they both end up in tears, or everyone ends up sad or angry somehow.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. Parenting is the pinnacle of glamour.

Leave a Reply

