“Oh Hell No!” Turns to “Sure, Why Not?”

A strange sense of timing occurred the other day. If you’re the type of person that believes that there is a such thing as fate and no such thing as coincidences, then this is right up your alley.

I’ve been driving for a local ambulance for almost two years. I have CPR and basic first aid training, but that’s it. I never wanted to get into being an EMT because…well…I’m terrified of it. Not of the nature of the work, I can handle that- but of the possibility of screwing something up and hurting someone worse than they were before I got there. I’ve seen what these EMTs and medics are capable of doing and they’re amazing. I never considered myself able to do that. I was perfectly happy to sign on to drive them wherever they needed to go, but I’d leave them to their magic in the back of the rig.

I went for an interview the other night. I was asked if I’d ever consider getting an EMT certification, because the town I was applying in is starting to send their officers to EMT and fire school. I said simply that if the job wanted me to have the certification, I’d take it, absolutely- I firmly believe that there’s no such thing as bad training, and since police are usually the first on the scene around us, it makes sense.

I mulled over the possibility of doing it after I left, but figured I’d cross that bridge when I came to it.

……That bridge was a lot closer than I thought.

I went to my ambulance building literally the next day to pick up my paycheck and my boss cornered me.

“Would you be interested in going to EMT school? It starts in September. We would sponsor you, all you’d need to do it pay for your textbook. You’d always have a job, and I can’t tell you it wouldn’t be a benefit to you trying to get a police job.”

So there I was. Less than 24 hours after being presented with the possible NEED for the certification, to being presented the MEANS to get it. Essentially, the ambulance is looking for added or fill-in EMTs. I have no idea why she picked me to go into it, but she did, and the freaky timing of the offer threw me for a loop.

I agreed.

So, just like that- I start EMT school in a few weeks. I’m more worried about it than I was about the police academy, and this place doesn’t have Drill Instructors.

There’s so very much to remember. There’s so very much liability. There’s so very, very much riding on the care you’re able to give a patient.

Can I do it?

I have no idea.

I’ll find out on September 8th, which starts what I think could be one of my biggest challenges yet, but if I can get through it, I could be a bit more firmly on the path towards finally landing the job I want, the job that will find us a bit of security and comfort.

3 thoughts on ““Oh Hell No!” Turns to “Sure, Why Not?”

Leave a Reply

