Now….We Wait.

Twelve days ago I had a job interview.
Ten days ago I got a phone call that went something like this:

“We want to thank you for taking the time to come out and meet with us. We want to know if you’d like to come work for us. This is an offer of employment.”

I immediately agreed and asked what the next step would be.

“We’ll be in touch.” I was told.

Four days ago I get an email with a packet of paperwork that needed to be filled out and returned. Routine stuff, but I still had nothing more concrete than a verbal offer on the phone.

Three days ago I drove the completed packet out to the office.

Here I sit now, waiting for the next move. I’m anxious as all hell because, as I said- there’s nothing more confirming that I got the job than the phone call. I haven’t signed anything, met with anyone…nothing.

I do, of course realize that this isn’t like going to work for your local grocer. “You’re hired, you start Monday.”

I know that the wheels of the machine grind slowly, and for good reason. Nothing needs be left to chance, nothing needs to be done improperly or incompletely.

But while I understand all that, I don’t like it. Given everything my employment ride has put the family through the last year and a half, I’m still terrified that the offer will be withdrawn and I’ll be right back to square one. I don’t believe it will be, but I can’t help but worry. Of course, the longer it takes to hear from them, the more I am convinced that there will be bad news. I have no idea if this worry is justified or not, but its how I’m thinking right now.

Every email notification I get makes me jump. Every voicemail I get quickens my pulse. I cannot wait to start. I NEED to start. Two and a half years of work and training, and I’m back to babysitting computers to pay the bills, hating every second of it.

Readers, I’m literally at the point where I need to get back and start doing one of the most stressful jobs on the planet so I can stop being so damn stressed out about not doing it.

So, here we are. Day 12 from initial contact. No word yet, good or bad.
Its a good thing I don’t chew my fingernails….I’d be down around the third digit by now.

Good things come to those who wait.

Leave a Reply

