Random My Ass…..

I have news on the job front, but I’ll save that for a bit later, as things are still transpiring IN MY FAVOR.

Instead, I’ll regale you with a quick story that led me to peeing in a cup at 8am.

One of the EMTs I work with and I have some of the worst luck with equipment. Twice now we’ve had failures of the electronic stretcher, which necessitated manually lifting patients into and out of the ambulance. Once was even a drunk patient with a head wound from falling down a set of stairs. No bueno. Thankfully, that got all sorted out and the stretcher is fine now.

However, one of our rigs has an electrical gremlin, which keeps the radios from turning on when you start it. I don’t know if you know anything about EMS, but radios are pretty damn important. Three times now I’ve started up the rig and the radios are dead. Not on. Kaput. Once, while I waited for my EMT to respond, I even tore the thing out of the dash and checked the connections. No luck. Once, I shut off the ambulance and turned it back on (typical IT trick) and the radios fired up and worked flawlessly.

The other night though, as I pulled out of the bay, no luck with them again. So I switched rigs and texted the coordinator to tell her that the radios were out again.

Her response was shocking. She told me that I was the ONLY one who has troubles with the radios. Literally none of the other drivers have had problems with them. My EMT laughed as we drove back from the call and I swore up a storm. They thought I was nuts. In fact, immediately after I switched rigs and texted her, the guy who does the maintenance on the ambulances went down and tested them….and they worked. Ten minutes after I couldn’t get them to come on.

The next morning I get a text from the coordinator.

“It’s your lucky day, you got selected for a random drug test.”

Random.

Right.

They think I’m crazy.

Leave a Reply

