The Clothes Make the Man

Something happened to me at work today, that was a little flattering, but mostly a little strange because of its rarity and the circumstances. I went back to the office after running some petty errand for the Lieutenant. I headed into our communication’s office and parked at a computer next to our secretary, who is a very nice lady.

“Soooooo……” She says. “I got a phone call from one of the women in the Administration Building. One of the ladies over there wanted to know if you were single. She thinks you’re cute.”

I laughed, until I realized she wasn’t kidding. Apparently, I had met someone over there who’d taken a shine to me, and talked to another woman about it, who happened to be friends with our secretary- and she called to find out about me.

Thankfully, our secretary put the clamp on the whole thing and told them I was happily married.

I’m convinced it had to be the uniform. I don’t mean to imply that women are shallow enough to swoon for any man in uniform, or else there would be a lot more glamour in the UPS guy’s day…but this sort of thing simply doesn’t happen to me. I’ve really not often been the subject of this sort of attention, and since I never change, only the clothes do, the variable is clear. In fact, the only other times I can think of where this sort of thing HAS happened in one form or another, I was also working.

What interested me the most though, is how it seems that the ‘dating game’ hasn’t changed much since junior high. My wife and I have been together for a long time, so I haven’t really played the game in a while, but I was sort of surprised to find out that the quiet whispering between friends and clandestine seeking of information from third or fourth parties is exactly the same as it was back then. I’m not passing any judgement, I was just sort of surprised to find that at this stage in our lives, people aren’t walking up to each other and saying “I’ve not got time for bullshit. What’s your story?”  Although I suppose that WOULD take some of the fun out of the hunt. If there was a trophy buck waiting for me as soon as I got out of the car on frozen mornings when I go hunting, It simply wouldn’t be the same.

Whomever this person was who inquired about my status, I hope she manages to find what she’s looking for, in any way she so chooses to go about looking.

 

And if you’re wondering….if COURSE I shared this little anecdote with my better half:

Between

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Clothes Make the Man

Leave a Reply

