For Valentine’s Day: Barf and Overtime

My wife and I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day. Thirteen years together, and we’ve never done so much as a single card. I don’t look down at anyone who does decide to celebrate it with their significant others, it just isn’t our thing. My wife and I have been through a lot in the thirteen years we’ve been together, but the one thing that’s remained extremely strong, is our relationship with each other. In fact, it’s only grown stronger in the face of the challenges we’ve had to put up with.

This year really wasn’t any different. Except that The Narrator was exposed to Valentine’s Day themed things in school all week, so he expected the excitement of his school party to bleed into his home life. My wife, sensing this- went ahead and made pink pancakes for breakfast. We’d hoped that would be enough, but it wasn’t. He started wondering where the Valentine’s Day Cards were, so we scrambled about with some construction paper and markers to make the kid’s day.

Admittedly, mine was less ‘Valentines Day’ and more ‘Squidward’:

1904f6754e73ccffd0df57a1cd79b1df

(Two Spongebob references in as many posts? I don’t know if that’s awesome or sad.)

So, that was most of the day. We didn’t have a special dinner either, as I was out the door by 3:15. The guy that usually works the 5pm-5am shift took the night off so he could take his wife to dinner, so I got adjusted to cover his shift. After I got to work, I was informed that I needed to not only cover HIS shift, but also the last two hours of mine, so I’d be pulling a 14 hour shift. I plunged into it, and got a message from my wife a few hours into it.

Apparently, the barfing from the other night (see previous post) re-erupted in The Narrator, AND spread its way to The Destroyer as well.

So, effectively- on Valentine’s day I worked a 14 hour shift (with an hour’s drive tacked onto each end of it, totaling 16 hours) and my wife was stuck at home with two profusely vomiting children.

I can’t wait to see what’s in store for St. Patrick’s Day.

Leave a Reply

